Clasping Hands: Left Brain, Right Brain, Or No Brain?

I was a junior when the way my thumbs overlap when I clasp my hands came to my consciousness. My former chemistry teacher asked us to put our hands together and see if the left thumb was above the right or vice versa. During that time, my left thumb would go above the right if I put my hands together effortlessly.

According to my former chemistry teacher, people with the left thumb up follow the heart before the mind; people with the right thumb up follow the mind before the heart. It has to do with the left brain vs. right brain thing. Of course, I did not bother to check if what my former chemistry teacher said was accurate with what science dictated, but if you don’t know how your hands end up when you clasp them together, try doing it now and learn something about yourself. It will not change the world but it is nice to know. :P

What is interesting is that if you force it the other way around, it feels mighty awkward. Try it and you’ll see! But what is most interesting is that I do not feel anything even if I go left over right or right over left, unlike most people. It feels utterly the same really and if I put my hands together effortlessly now, sometimes the right goes above and sometimes the left! It fascinates me really. :D

But I must admit, it did not happen all on its own. I practiced doing it until the unnatural feeling went away on its own. This might be a very mindless exercise but it goes to show you that you can get used to anything if you do it enough. Having said that, this is where I add a fair share of warning: whatever you do frequently goes under your skin without you noticing it so make sure your deeds represent you well. It may be good; it may be bad; with practice it becomes who you are!

Announcement: Don’t forget to join my 4th blog anniversary contest for a chance to win a trip to Brazil! :lol:

30 thoughts on “Clasping Hands: Left Brain, Right Brain, Or No Brain?

  1. Pingback: Left Brain or Right Brain Dominance? | Spring in Washington, DC

    • ikaw, heart din? this is not functional to me anymore because both feel the same and they overlap most days so i can’t tell.

      • Mind yung akin e. hehehe. Which I prefer by the way. :D
        Tapos ginawa ko yung may conscious effort na dapat left mauna, weird nga.awkward yung togetherness nila. haha. Masaya to. Salamat ha. Pagsasabi ko nga. :D

  2. Try ko din couple of times to put my left thumb over my right, pero parang hindi lapat and it felt ‘awkward”. Guess I’m too old to change.

  3. interesting… I’m right handed so my left thumb goes on top of my right thumb.. feels natural.. how about a lefty ? Would his right thumb go over the left ? Just curious :)

  4. Sabi nga nila, do things 21 consecutive times to make it a habit. Same goes with training your mind/body to do something thru repetition.

    Btw, I clasp my hands. I’m mind over heart.

  5. Sa akin left thumb on top. :)

    You are so right PM. Sabi nga nila once nakasanayan na mahirap ng baguhin kaya dapat maingat kung ano ang makakasanayan.

    • totoo yan, minsan kahit gustong baguhin mahirap talaga kasi nga sanay na, pero in those cases, never give up lalo na kung towards good naman ang change!

  6. I tried… my left thumb up! so I follow my heart pala before the mind. Parang hindi naman sa case ko pero pwede din tama kase I’m super maawain din eh…. hehehe… btw thanks for sharing :)

Leave a Reply

