Whoever Said Culinary School’s Fun Is A Fucking Liar

royal icing flowers

Have I told you I’ve been attending culinary school already? Yes, taking cake decorating classes there, it’s been awhile. So how’s it going, you may be wondering?

After the first day, I’m so tired I’m almost violent. Let’s just put it this way: whoever said culinary school is fun is a motherfucking liar. If anything, the days I spent in class are the hardest I’ve worked my ass off in the last five years, holy hell. :shock:

The amount of effort required to go through a day is so much I have to ask myself every time WTF did I think going there. I swear to you, culinary school exhausts the ever living fuck out of me.

When I tell my sisters about it they tell me I’m being a baby about it and that’s why they conclude it’s a good thing for me. They think I’ve had it too easy and it’s time to challenge myself. What an expensive way to do so, don’t you think?

royal icing flowers

I have zero talent when it comes to cake decorating simply because my fine motor control equals to that of a squid icing a cupcake. My hands shake like mini earthquakes and my wrist strength is not even half strength; how about no strength at all? You should see me working really. I’ll bring joy to you, and disgust maybe. :lol:

My friend classifies my experiences in culinary school as traumatic. It’s really funny. But for all my complaining, I’ve managed to learn how to pipe stuff and how to make flower thingys for cakes.

Next time I’ll post photos of my work to humiliate myself. I’m lazy now so I can’t. My sisters like my outputs though. They find them adorable. Hmm… I guess they’re decent; maybe I’m just too bitter about the amount of effort required to pull them out that I don’t even want to look at them.

The most fun I did related to culinary school though is feeding the leftover royal icing to this beautiful Siberian Husky, Elrick. He belongs to the lovely Sheila who is nice enough to let me try feed her dog royal icing. The sugar high after’s phenomenal!

Oh man, I hate icing.

Photos taken from here and here.

25 thoughts on “Whoever Said Culinary School’s Fun Is A Fucking Liar

  1. Pingback: Read Because Books Don’t Abandon You | Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. Pingback: You See Better Only In Retrospect | Prinsesa's Anatomy

  3. It always looked really hard on TV haha but wow you have to be really crafty for cake decorating. I’d never be able to pull it off.. now you can make pretty foods~~

    • funny thing is when other people are doing it, it looks too easy. they just move their hands a little and beautiful things happen. once you do it for yourself, you realize it’s a complete sorcery and the piping bag’s a wand you have no idea how to use. :lol:

  4. OMG! I’m laughing so hard I’m about to pee my pants! You have the fine motor skill of a squid? I don’t think so deary! I’ve know people who think they’re ready to start a cake business after going to culinary school for just a year. Guess what? Their cakes and flowers don’t look ANYWHERE near as pretty as your cake does! I laugh under my breath when they want to be paid for their ugly cakes. I WOULD pay for the one in your picture! You’re almost there so don’t quit!

    I was married to an executive chef my first go around. My second go around, I married another chef. They;re very temperamental people! lol I guess it IS nerve racking.

    • i can’t maria, it takes a lot of time and i’m not sure i’ll live through that. i’m glad i made the right decision. i’m just doing this for “fun” and not because i want to go into business or something like most people who do it.

    • it’s fun in a slavery way :) i’m able to make goodies already, at least that’s what i think. these culinary classes are on basic cake decorating.

Leave a Reply

