Crash and Burn

Beauty in struggle

Broken Waves

I did not intend to go, but I was glad I decided to stop

By the beach and see the sun cast its warm glow on the troubled sea,

As the waves violently crash, against each other before

Finally bowing down to the shore… broken, but only to go back,

And crash again, and again, and again without a care in the world.

Because waves were meant to crash against each other and

Into the shore. No matter how broken it looks to the eye,

It will always stay the same because that’s how it should be.

Like you and me, crashing and burning but always

Returning to each other. Because we both know very well

That’s how we both want it to be, no matter the struggle of the waves.

Because ultimately there is beauty amidst the chaos of it all.

This lame poem is my response to the photo-inspire me tag that Kat sent me. Although I know I suck at poetry, I was interested to give it a try so go ahead and tell me how poor I did in the most creative way you can think of.

Anyway, this is how the tag went:

Write a poem or an inspiring line based on a photo of your choice. This photo can be your own, or someone elseโ€™s. (If the picture is not yours, please ask permission from the owner when you post it, or better yet, provide only the link to the picture that inspired you, without posting it.)

Your poem or inspiring line may be of any length, and any genre. It can be humorous, sentimental, heart-warming, whatever. You may write in Ilokano, English or Filipino.

Post your inspiring line in your blog and in the comment section of this page (or just a link to your post so we could go and check it there). For poetry submissions, please indicate if you wish your piece to be posted in Bilingual Pen as an article submission.

The goal of this game is to get us to write, and express our thoughts and emotions.

I am really interested as to how my kuya soulsheik will do with this tag.

***

There were a couple of earthquakes today and it was the first time I experienced an earthquake when I’m out of the house. I was only at the third floor but I got dizzy due to the earthquake and its aftershock. Crap. I don’t like earthquakes.

Something I also loathe is going to the dentist as attested by my post Mouth Temporarily Closed for Renovation but as luck would have it, I am badly suffering from multiple tooth aches. Ouch! Tooth ache is so irritating! Hate toothache! Hate toothache!

29 thoughts on “Crash and Burn

  1. Pingback: In Other Words: Archived Poetry Show And Tell « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. Pingback: Empty Memories « Prinsesa’s Anatomy

  3. brainteaser,
    i just did. parang nakakahiya pinost ko pa talaga. lol.

    source,
    thanks ha. yan ang trying hard version.

    kat,
    thanks, ineffort ko nga yan eh.

  4. Hi PM! It’s good! ๐Ÿ™‚

    By the way, I saw you at bard and brain and at BP. Thanks for linking.

    You can also post it at BP. All you have to do is register. There is a register button at the top. Once you have registered, you will be emailed a password which you can use to log in. Once you have logged in, you will have some admin access, allowing you to post your thing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. bw,
    a test environment eh? i like that idea, very interesting. i don’t write poetry so…

    brainteaser,
    o thank you for appreciating the effort. lol. poetry is not really my thing. i dance with prose.

    cliffnotes,
    gee thanks a lot!

  6. Crash and burn. In the IT world, it has to do with a test environment ๐Ÿ™‚

    Not a bad poem at all.. The sea speaks volumes. The most important thing is we get the message ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. kris jasper,
    if they don’t crash, i don’t think they will still be called waves?

    gmacomics,
    nako thanks, trying hard yan.

    joansyndrome,
    i did not really intend it to be but kat tagged me and i could not find anything other than photos of my cat, so this is it.

    soulsheik,
    do it with your own photo! that will be cool. my teeth do not suck now but i think it will be smart to go to a dentist.

    witsandnuts,
    i hate it! it’s like i can’t do anything about it!

  8. Nice poem PM,

    There’s no good nor bad poem
    only bad critics.

    I like yours, as it reflects struggle, and irony of it.

    Words are not enough to convey our grandest feelings and our most joyful thoughts.

    Rhythm soothes, but meaning enlightens, as our struggles clears the path.

    Be well PM.

  9. Sea and Sky

    The Sky and the Sea
    Never coalesce like milk and tea
    Great lover to both
    Ethereal heaven and vehement broth

    Drove the clouds to cover the blue
    Drew alfresco when I flew
    Valued silver to the somber gloom
    Precious gold to the blissful groom

    Like Allan Poe’s Annabel Lee
    I lived by the sea
    Her tempest and her glee
    Sky wept as she sets me free

    Sang songs and blistering chills
    Scoured the shores and the hills
    Ephemeral and ethereal as the sky
    The Sun, the Stars, the Moon and I

    I am the Wind.

  10. i claim to be a ‘sublime poetry in the making’ (whatever got to my head when i thought of that!) but i think somewhere in our hearts are poets with struggling emotions ought to explode…

    so sequel pla to nung previous post mo..hmm..thought so..at hinayaan mo nalang ang mga waves na aliwin ka at na trigger pa ang pgka makata mo..galing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. K,
    oh don’t worry about her. she’s still alive and actually doing pretty well… answering your comment. lol. the person on the other photo was me K.

    BF,
    ayan may punctuation marks na para sayo yan ha. lol. sa resort yan ng tatay ko dito sa bataan. punta ka!

    metz,
    i thought i was having vertigo! it was scary! but i was scared of the after shock, good thing nothing followed. whew!

    piapot,
    mushy ka diyan. gusto mo ikaw ang imush ko? lol.

    philip,
    thanks, trying hard. lol.

    carver,
    o thank you, especially for claiming to like the poem. lol. you’re lucky to not be in an earthquake yet. it can be scary!

    seraphine,
    wow thanks a lot! this earthquake was the first in a long while for me so i was scared! plus, i was alone! yes, i’m having a hard time with the teeth ache! teeth ache because i feel three are sore!

    kaycee,
    o wow thanks. i’m trying to give a go at poetry because i study it at school with my literature subject. maybe you should give it a try too!

    philos,
    o yes, i’ve heard of that song. hmm… i think i’d consider burning compared to drowning.

  12. Your title reminded me of an old Savage Garden song with the same title. Personally, I don’t mind crashing if someone’s there to catch me, but burning? No thanks :p

  13. i think you did a good job! well done for giving it a go!
    (i wouldn’t even know where to begin – i’d probably just post a photo and ask people to write a line or a short poem for the photo as i am completely hopeless!!!)
    Hope you’re having a good weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. i love your poem! you don’t suck at poetry at all, prinsesa.
    we get earthquakes in california too. i hate them because they are so random, and sometimes it takes a moment to understand what is going on. usually the thought is: what is happening to me?
    i hope your tooth feels better soon.

  15. haha suicidal naman ba ang interpretation mo k! hahaha so far buhay pa si PM haha and i can attest to that! haha

    PM’s getting mushy! PM’s getting mushy! haha ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Looking at the pic, suddenly gave me this scary thought, what happened to the woman standing in that shore (from your previous photo)?

    Is it….

    “Because waves were meant to crash against each other and Into the shore no matter how broken it looks to the eye”.

Leave a Reply

