Finding My Place

I had my second day of teaching last Thursday, and what can I say? It just keeps on getting better. I wish I had two, no, three hearts just so all the happiness, satisfaction, and contentment I am feeling would have somewhere to go to and be stored. That’s how happy I am teaching.

Don’t get me wrong. It is very hard work, plus the environmental conditions can be classified as torture but that is how I know I have found my place. Though to teach is very tiring and tasking, I still put all the effort I can muster because it really, really makes me happy.

Last Thursday I administered three sets of exams to my students in three different sections after finishing our lesson. I said I’d take pictures of them and post it on my blog so blog mates, may I introduce you to my students at the university.

My freshmen students at BSecondary Education 1-D

My freshmen students of BSecondary Education 1-D taking their Natural Science 2 exams

My freshmen students of BSecondary Education from 1-A

My freshmen students of BSecondary Education from 1-A holding a make-up class just for the exams.

The first male student and the sixth female are also members of my org at the university paper

The first male student and the sixth female are also members of my org at the university paper

The male student bowed down to the exam behind the first girl is also applying for a position in the org and a reader of my blog LOL

The male student bowed down to the exam behind the first girl is also applying for a position in the org and a follower of my blog LOL

I really, really think I am not a bad teacher, LOL. The results of the exam were good, some even were able to get a perfect score! That made me happier. My critic teacher is also very nice and helpful to me. I think I am starting to learn and study seriously LOL. I was very overwhelmed when he said his students do not miss him and his teaching because of me.

But the best thing so far was this: there are actually three sections to which I should be teaching but my critic teacher only gave me the two and he handles the last one, the class of 1-B, but last Thursday I attended the class of 1-B to administer their exams. I introduced myself and established rapport with the students and gave them their exams. As I was about to leave, my students said, “Ma’am nakakatuwa ka naman, sana ikaw na lang ang teacher namin araw-araw! [You are wonderful teacher, I wish you are our teacher everyday!]”

I am tired. I lack sleep. I study my own lessons and the lessons that I have to teach at the same time. I rack my brains so hard for ideas and strategies for teaching. But you know what? I dream of doing nothing less.

20 thoughts on “Finding My Place

  1. Glad you found your LOVE. Kahit ano pa ang tinapos mo ang importante evryday na papasok ka sa work, “inspired” ka pumasok at magaan ang katawan mo. Mahirap yung papunta ka pa lang you feel tired already. Keep up the good work. Someday baka maging clinical instructor ka dito sa States or anywhere na makakita ka ng chance.God bless you.

  2. phoenix,
    oo hindi ko nalilimutan isip ko nga if ilan yung nakaperfect eh may present ako kaso 3 yata eh!

    e’gui
    34 ka yata dun sa skeletal hindi ko na matandaan dun sa 2 pa. yung vitamins and minerals aba hindi naman ako ang nagdiscuss nun no LOL pero nakakalito talaga yung part ng matching type kasi nung ginagawa ko yung answer key super focus ako LOL

  3. hehehe..how’s my score miss fajardo?? i hope i passed the 2nd part..boy,that was a tough one..minerals and vitamins.. whew…

  4. basta aq hnd aq nangopya ha!
    konti lang naman!
    haha..joke!

    ung premyo po namen na chocolate ha…
    wait namen un…

    dapat may games ulit para mas msaya..

    tnx…

  5. kulot,
    okey lang ala GTO naman ako eh pano yun GTPM? LOL

    ched,
    nag eexam pa yan ng lagay na yan ha LOL

    K,
    of course not, nag paalam ako sa kanila na pipicturan ko sila at ilalagay ko sa blog ko. ang totoo niyan gusto nga magsi pose ng mga loko eh sabi ko pano maniniwala ang mga blogmates ko na nageexam kayo sa picture kung todo pose at ngiti kayo!

    bw,
    i think 30 yung 1-D tapos yung 1-A 32 yata o 33. hindi ko alam ang exact count two days pa lang ako eh LOL but i enjoy each and everyone of them. they can be sweet you know.

    JC,
    i think one or two did. LOL but majority passed and i am really happy about that. how about you take the exam and let’s see if you’d pass chicken?

    snglguy,
    maybe to teach nursing subjects LOL

    kris jasper,
    that is my problem with nursing duties in the hospital. it bores me. but i really, really enjoy teaching. maybe you should consider switching careers too?

    kengkay,
    nag uusap muna kami ng masinsinan ng mga bata before mag exam to lay down the rules. luckily wala namang ganiyan pa kung meron man discreet naman sila magkopyahan siguro LOL madali naman silang makuha sa bawal pero pag hindi, aba nakita mo ba yang cat sa ilalim ng searcg toolbar ko? ganiyan siguro LOL

  6. you got a lot of students ! True, the feeling of satisfaction is there kung alam mo na may naitulong ka, like imparting your knowledge to the younger ones. Congrats 🙂

  7. A good teacher always practice a lit of patience, from misbehaving students, lesson plan and .. a camera.

    Now that’s blackmailing, taking photos of students na walang kamalay malay, nasa blog na pala sila, hahaha. JOKES.

  8. wow naman
    ma’am na ma’am ang dating
    hahahahahaha
    pati sa bahay may teacher!waaaaaaaaaaa
    pero okey lng haha
    bagay nmn syo ung teacher eh haha
    aja!aja!teacher PM!
    😀

  9. cindyrellaz,
    actually kung tutuusin neophyte teacher ako pero exposed na ko sa pagsasalita in front of so many people kasi nagsspeaker at lecturer ako sa mga press congress. but i am really glad may nakaperfect at least may natutunan ang mga bata.

    dotep,
    may program na prof. ed lang ang kukunin mo then you can teach all you need is a degree na tinapos po tapos okey na!

    gmac,
    kinakain ka ni akismet eh LOL salamat oo nga pinicturan ko sila. naisip ko na nga yan eh mukang hindi nag eexam yung iba LOL talaga.

  10. ayaw gumana ng aking commenting powers ah. anyways teacher prinsesa mukha nga magaling ka magturo. pinicturan mo pa mga students mo. hahaha. congrats!

  11. naks naman! oi maam may nangongopya sa picture! ibagsak mo!

    biro lang! hehe

    sana nga nag-teacher na lang din ako, teacher kasi mommy ko sa elementary, gusto ko sa high school para kulitan…

    sana itaas sahod niyo… 🙂

  12. naks naman, teacher na teacher ka na talaga!! magaling ka nga talaga sigurong teacher, akaain mo? may naka perfect!! weee!!! congrats!!

Leave a Reply

