Hanging By A Moment

Crossing the Line

At the very edge I hung – thinking

Whether I should let go and allow myself to fall,

To what seemed like a glorious plunge,

To what seemed like a blinding, maddening downward flight.

I looked down – tense, curious.

I could almost hear my frantic scream, loud and faint as I go down, down, down.

A scream of pleasure and horror, as I have become prey.

‘Let go’ – it is very, very tempting.

I closed my eyes – savoring my moment of indecision…

The taste of intoxication fills my mouth,

As a cold sweat of fear trickle down my neck.

It is close – any moment now.

My fingers loose grip – one after the other.

I chill in lost anticipation, wonder, awe…

As I throw my head back to feed my fall, ready for the long way down –

Let’s see if I can grow wings.

I had some boring free time today so I pretended I was filling it up by writing poetry. LOL.

I also saw another poetry today posted by ceemee titled Innocence. I wonder if she was also bored when she wrote it. LOL.

28 thoughts on “Hanging By A Moment

  1. Pingback: In Other Words: Archived Poetry Show And Tell « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. Pingback: Empty Memories « Prinsesa’s Anatomy

    • try writing one when you are bored. besides everybody can write them it is only a question of how good it turns out LOL thank you very much for your appreciation btw!

  3. So….let’s make a psycho-social analysis of yourself using this poem you posted for us, shall we? πŸ˜›

    Nah, just kidding, I’m not someone with the tools to do it so you’re safe this time πŸ™‚

    • LOL one very important thing about poetry is that you never associate the poet from the persona in the poem because they are two very distinct characters.

    • as philos said, it is not always a requisite to be able to write poetry for you to appreciate it right?

  4. This reminds me of a passage in a book I read eons ago…

    “I often dream about falling. Such dreams are commonplace to the ambitious or those who climb mountains…As I continued to fall in the dark void, embraced by the vault of the heavens, I sang to the beauty of the stars and made my peace with the darkness.”

    It was written by Heinz Pagel. He was a Physicist and a Mountain Climber. and yes, he died while conquering a mountain.

Leave a Reply

