Monsters Inc.

PM is petrified at the site of kids.

There is really no rhyme and reason in trying to put together PM and small children. There is something about the way they stare, the way they talk, the way they move that makes me squirm. Clearly, I cannot understand them.

I remember going to church with my sisters and sitting on a row that has empty seats. Three giddy, tiny kids sat next to me and I just felt horror sinking on my stomach. Luckily, they left after a minute or two. They must’ve felt my shivering frame and got scared.

After the mass piapot told me, she and my two other sisters were also horror struck when the kids sat next to me, but in a different way – they wanted to tell the kids with urgency, “Run, run! run for your life!”

Yesterday, PM was being a good nurse and spreading the word against A(H1N1) since there has been confirmed cases here in our province. I had to speak to so many kids, interrupt their classes and conduct health teaching sessions.

When I entered the first room, the kids were silent and staring. I wanted to pass out. But I can’t so I proceeded with what has to be done, over and over, room after room, with kids ranging from 4 years old to 12.

Normally I should be dead by now. But what do you know? I am not and I actually enjoyed talking to them this time. It is indeed very surprising, albeit a little disturbing too. But I guess, it is because of the quality of the kids I was with yesterday. I never thought I would say this in my entire life but they were ‘perfect little angels’. Hmmm… I think it has a lot to do with the fact that they go to a private school that really focuses on their proper growth and development. I should know, my FairyGodMommyFe runs and owns the school.

I guess what I am trying to say is I really had fun with the kids yesterday. Because of that, I think I should check out if pigs has grown wings by now.

59 thoughts on “Monsters Inc.

  1. Kids are okay with me, they’re not so bad. Of course they will drive you crazy but that’s exactly where the fun in teaching them is. What I don’t like (and I’m so afraid of) are babies. Toddlers. I can manage. Infants, no freakin’ way.

  2. Ah…kids.
    Yeah, I’m not really petrified by kids but I surely don’t know how to behave near them.
    I don’t have that infant side that pops up when a kid comes to interact. A kid normally won’t pop a smile on my face right away nor make my worries vanish. Hell, I think I talk to kids the same way I talk to my friends, parents, teachers. By “the same way” I mean use the same line of thought, build arguments the same way, use the same expressions….I feel unable to differentiate their mental capacity…or maybe I don’t want to.
    I don’t know. All I know is that right now I can’t see myself raising a kid πŸ˜›

  3. hmmm. does that mean you’re not intending to have kids ? hehe πŸ™‚

    Good for you to provide education to children on the prevention swine flu. That’s true community service πŸ™‚

    We got cases here too but what I heard is it isn’t as lethal as SARS and the ones that are gravely affected are the eldery and people with known illnesses. Buti na lang hindi masyadong deadly – ahh, sigh of relief 😯

    • that is the best part. mababa ang mortality rate niya at hindi ka magiging zombie pag natamaan ka LOL

  4. i don’t kids myself
    brat kasi ako ng bata ako
    hehe
    but when i had my nieces
    naiba pananaw ko sa mga bata
    well, sa mga pamnkin ko lang (really)
    i find them so adorable
    i want to adopt them
    pero pagdating padin sa ibang bata, suplado pa din ako
    hehe

  5. ako, akala ko e mahilig ako sa mga bata pero minsan sabi sa kin ng sis ko yung mga bata daw sa eskinita namin e takot sa kin lol!

    pero tignan mo naman yaya ako ngayon πŸ™‚

  6. is there something as “fear of kids”? i have the same reaction to kids, especially that some kids i’ve met are either rowdy or mean. i admit, i fear kids…lol. this is not good at all.

  7. You shouldn’t be scared of kids… they should be scared of you! Hehe… use your power over them!

    Seriously, all you need to do is smile, and if your smile is genuine enough, they can tell, and they’d smile back, and I kid you not, you’ll love that. πŸ™‚

  8. Scared of kids or intimidated by their “perfect little angels” image? LOL, you’re terrible PM, kids are the best people we can be friends with. Although in some instances, I recalled sitting in a MTR (train) and this kid was staring at me as if I had this big icky ugh in my face (my moles maybe). I gave her back that devil look as if saying, “cry, pee, cry, pee”.

    Anyway, I answered your meme (on my previous previous entry) din’t you notice?

    • then i must be a really terrible person LOL and i love what you did to that kid, very classic. i saw it already, very fun plus you actually did a meme!

  9. I love kids. But I’m picky. I only love those cute clean kids. ^_^

    Confirmed na po ba talaga ung case satin? Lam niyo po ba kung pano napunta sa ating munting lugar?

    Sinusundan hata ako, hindi nga ako pumunta ng Olongapo dahil meron sa Zambales..Pinuntahan naman ako dito..

  10. kids r funny. once i told my 4yr 0ld, after checking his temp because he had a fever, that he had 4 days to live. he cried non-stop. i told him i was just his dad being silly. for months he would just cry at random times thinking he’s gonna die. then he would read the bible every night. traumatized? well, he’s better now. told him to stop being a pussy.

  11. i’m glad you’ve finally got to enjoy time with kids. being with kids is not only fun, it also brings out the kid in us, which is a good thing. minsan kasi we tend to be too serious with life that we forget that life is meant to be enjoyed! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

