1+1 =

Two is a good number.

For one, everybody in the world wants to be first, so the traffic-free road that is number two is a breath of fresh air from the usual asphyxiating crowd; plus it also makes a good jingle, “two-two-two-two” sounds hell better than “one-one-one-one-one”, or at least that is how I find it.

The month of February has always fascinated me. February determines whether it will be a leap year or just an ordinary one. February determines whether you will be happy or sad if you are still single or makes you want to find someone so you would be a couple. But more importantly, February is PM’s blog birthday – it will be Year II for the cat who pooped her anatomy publicly in this litter box on the 26th.

In appreciation of your generosity for the past 24 months of non-stop action, PM wants to honor the connection we’ve created through the written word by putting up a little blog contest.

The cat has rummaged in the old litter box and searched for antiquities that has hopefully made an impact on the virtual community. To participate in the anniversary give away, all you need to do is pick a line taken from my old litter posts that were pooped from the last writing year below and give your take on the comments section on how it has affected you or made an imprint in your life, or change the way you believe in your own astrological status. LOL. Winners will be randomly selected and will get one in the world personalized, hand-crafted polymer clay trinkets.

They cannot seem to bear the unspoken words, or the weight the air suddenly takes when people are silent, the way it always happen, that all of the things remaining unsaid just seem to float to the air, making it heavy, giving it weight. from Silence and Solitude

…that act of letting go is one of the tests of being human that we must all pass. It is not always pretty but more often, it is the only way to go, because it is the only way to be free. from Silence and Solitude

…I wanted those pictures so I could steal something from the suitcase of time, so that I would always remember my students and all of our experiences together, my first year teaching, and all of the lessons we both learned from each other. from Starburst

It’s funny because looking back, I realized since  half a decade ago, we are still the same people to this day, well at least the good parts are still the same. from What Girlfriends Should Do

Let us put it this way, “unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered, you will never grow.” As my very wise friend put it, me teaching chemistry might be a mistake, but it was a great mistake. He might sound like Oprah but so far he proves to be right. from Sunken Ship – Choco Chip

For the longest time, I thought I was the one being strong for Cook, but now I realized that it was Cook who was being strong for me, because he knew all too well that I couldn’t handle it. from Grieving

I promise I will never forget. from Grieving

Mothers. They give everything and only ask that we make something good out of our lives in return. I think it is the best deal man has ever made. from The Battle of Boiled Eggs and Instant Noodles

Life is a gift. And I will live. from Bring Me to Life

I think the saddest thing in life is to die… while you live. from Dead and Gone

I think the rainy season is the perfect time for bonding moments, for long talks and reading books with a wonderful mug of hot choco on one hand and a blanket on the other. from Create Your Own Sunshine

I cannot believe how some can call themselves human yet their concern for innocent and helpless animals measures to the emotional range of a monoblock chair. from Don’t Let The Cat Bite

To be honest, there has never been a time when I felt I was too little to make a change, or too small to leave a mark. It is simple really – I believe that even the smallest, most random acts can change the course of life; after all, when you add a pile of small good things, the end result has got to only be best big things. from It Can Be Done

Plus, I have long known that being good is not a crime. It is not my fault I am brilliant. LOL. from And It All Falls Down

I started believing that I could be wrong. from Tension of Opposites

But in the end, I guess the point is, there really is no reason to look for something – all we really need is to look.  from The Search for the Missing Cupcake

Doing the right thing specially becomes difficult when how you really feel clashes with it. from Just Do it

But to give justice to being human, just because we can do it does not really mean we should. from Just Do it

Suffering is optional. Happiness is a choice. from Happiness and Energy

It may sound very pious, but really, all we need to do is to let go and let God. from Happiness and Energy

Plus, failing once is not really failing. Ultimately, it is what you really do after failing that will determine how the world judges your success. from Losing Battles

I like watching fireworks because they teach me a lot of things: that darkness can hold surprises, the most beautiful only during the darkest; that sometimes, things must be unexpected – and short – to be more meaningful; that a little smoke can be enough to remember a glorious moment; and that in many instances, even a split second can hold many wonders. from Light My Fire

Amidst everything I understood and did not understand this year, I am still very thankful. Thankful for another shot at life, and for work, no matter how odd that may seem. Thankful for the people who loved me even when I was neurotic all year long, and to the people who wanted to love me, thank you. Thankful for everything I was able to do, the same for those I did not do. For everything I said and did not say, for all the words I wrote and chose not to write, for all the truth I believed and some I chose to ignore… because I was scared, still I am grateful. from The Year The Equinox Lasted 365 1/2 Days

The last thing that can really make it difficult is not really the indecisiveness – it is the decisiveness. from Balance

We cannot really have it all because if that was the case we would not be able to appreciate anything, and if we try to take it all, at the end of the day, we would end up with nothing. from Balance

I miss my neurosis. from The PM Abduction

Plus the thought, that the cosmos designer’s plan for our lives is always greater than our disappointments, and that the Absolute’s plan is always greater than our dreams. from Realigning My Truths

It is being scared like hell, but doing it anyway. from My Sacrifice

6. The opposite of love is not hate but use. from No Puppy Love

However, we may not really realize it, but when we try to draw a line between life and others, we are not really keeping them out… we are trapping ourselves in. from Liberation

I learned that everything that happens in life does not really need an explanation, only acceptance – and that is openness. Openness to a chance. Openness to an uncertainty. Openness to risks. from Liberation

All your love were and will always be highly appreciated. Happy second anniversary to us!

71 thoughts on “1+1 =

  1. Stumbled upon your blog from someone else’s. Hehe.

    Happy Anniversary to you and your blog. 😀

    “Let us put it this way, ‘unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered, you will never grow.’ As my very wise friend put it, me teaching chemistry might be a mistake, but it was a great mistake. He might sound like Oprah but so far he proves to be right.”

    — My own rule: Make big mistakes. Only stupid people stick with small ones. LOL.

  2. PM! i missed reading your blog! oh and happy anniversary! =)

    mga likes ko:

    that act of letting go is one of the tests of being human that we must all pass. It is not always pretty but more often, it is the only way to go, because it is the only way to be free. from Silence and Solitude

    Mothers. They give everything and only ask that we make something good out of our lives in return. I think it is the best deal man has ever made. from The Battle of Boiled Eggs and Instant Noodles

    I learned that everything that happens in life does not really need an explanation, only acceptance – and that is openness. Openness to a chance. Openness to an uncertainty. Openness to risks. from Liberation

  3. I’m glad to have an Ate PM.
    I learned a lot from you and your blogs. 🙂
    Happy Anniversary to you!!

    Where’s the real cake anyway? 🙂

  4. pwede bang “all of the above” ng choices? hehehe

    hmn, sa anniversary ng blog mo, pinag-iisipan kong maigi kung anong cat food ang masarap i-regalo sa ‘yo 😀

    Happy blog anniversary!

  5. “I learned that everything that happens in life does not really need an explanation, only acceptance – and that is openness. Openness to a chance. Openness to an uncertainty. Openness to risks.” from Liberation

    I picked this quote because it definitely describes my train of murky thoughts nowadays especially in my elusive quest to be a mother.

    Happy 2nd anniversary to your blog, PM. Here’s to more insightful and witty entries. Keep writing! =)

  6. congratulations on your blog anniversary! keep those posts coming, i like how you reflect on life – the daily things, important and mundane events that are special in their own way. more paw power to you! 😉

    • ay hindi ko alam kung may nagsabi niyan na iba, basta nung sinabi ko yan, original siya nun LOL cat food syempre! salamat!

  7. i like this one. let’s just say it kinda hit a nerve:

    “that act of letting go is one of the tests of being human that we must all pass. It is not always pretty but more often, it is the only way to go, because it is the only way to be free.”

  8. I was going to kill myself… then I read your words:

    “Life is a gift. And I will live.” and I decided to go on with my life !

    Your blog saved my life !
    Happy anniversary… keep going…keep blogging… like I will do with my life 🙂

  9. Congradulation on ur anniversary.
    my fav line is

    “It may sound very pious, but really, all we need to do is to let go and let God”

    I in a point of life where I have taken a huge risk, like i am fallin of from mountain with jus one hope that its going to be ok, God is going to be with me.

    • thanks sri. to be honest, i have not learned this line completely, that is why repeats always happen in my life, but i am getting on it.

  10. i’ve learned that the most important thing is not how long it lasted, but how it made you feel, and how much it has changed you, within a single tick of the clock.

    • siguro ganun talaga, parang pag nakuryente ka, walang bearing kung matagal o saglit. ang pag-uusapan lang, nakuryente ka. ayeney!

  11. The line, “I promise i will never forget,” left tears flowing on my cheeks. I will never forget how this post made me cry. What I know about us is that when we hold something so dear in our hearts, there is no such thing as forgetting. We don’t have that in our dictionary you know, even if you would deny that. I believe that when we love… it never fades.

  12. This one’s my most fave:

    “We cannot really have it all because if that was the case we would not be able to appreciate anything, and if we try to take it all, at the end of the day, we would end up with nothing.”

    Btw, 2 is one of my one fave numbers because that’s what numerology tells for me. Haha. Happy blog anniversary!

  13. It may sound very pious, but really, all we need to do is to let go and let God. from Happiness and Energy

    I like watching fireworks because they teach me a lot of things: that darkness can hold surprises, the most beautiful only during the darkest; that sometimes, things must be unexpected – and short – to be more meaningful; that a little smoke can be enough to remember a glorious moment; and that in many instances, even a split second can hold many wonders. from Light My Fire

    Happy 2nd anniversary to your blog, PM! I like these because it tells of being in the darkness, in difficult situations, and if we let go and hand our troubles to God, unexpected things will happen – like fireworks that light up and are awe-inspiring.

  14. Success is the ability to move on from one failure to the next.

    from post: Losing Battles

    It makes sense, because everytime I fail, I get more energy doing better the next time, and winning. It’s a cycle. Happy Birthday PM!

  15. Congratulations! Happy 2nd Anniversary to you and your blog! 🙂

    I pick this:
    …I wanted those pictures so I could steal something from the suitcase of time, so that I would always remember my students and all of our experiences together, my first year teaching, and all of the lessons we both learned from each other. from Starburst

    Only because I know how it feels… to want to reign in all those memories and make sure you never forget… and to have that chance to recapture them whenever you want, if only through an echo of the reality.

  16. happy birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    syempre sasali ako

    Suffering is optional. Happiness is a choice. from Happiness and Energy

    paborito ko ito
    kasi life is what we make of it

    kung miserable ang tao, pinili nya yon
    kung masaya naman sya, choice nya din yon
    life is too short
    let’s enjoy it

  17. My favorites:

    “Let us put it this way, “unless you try to do something beyond what you have already mastered, you will never grow.”–this is why i always try something new. even if i don’t succeed or do not become good at something, the important thing is i tried.

    “I think the saddest thing in life is to die… while you live”–that’s why they say that it is not the years in your life that count, but the life in your years!

    and above all
    “Plus the thought, that the cosmos designer’s plan for our lives is always greater than our disappointments, and that the Absolute’s plan is always greater than our dreams”–touche!

    happy 2nd anniversary PM! continue blogging! i love reading about your thoughts! mwah!

Leave a Reply

