The Revenge of the Angry Purple Yam

There was a time I swore I would never eat ube. I do not even know what ube is in English. You know, the Grimace-purple root crop that you use to make halaya, which I also am clueless to its international name, I don’t even know what type of food it is, other than, dessert.

But I must admit I have eaten a couple bowls of ube ice cream, when I was desperate, and pans and pans of halaya, which my Uncle makes amazingly, when no one is looking.

It only goes to show that there is no absolute thing in the world. Situations will always arise which will push you to change your mind and go the other way. It points out the importance of keeping an open mind, having an accepting attitude, and not discriminating food based solely on its color.

I realize I like having an open mind. It makes me easy going and lately, I must admit I am living my life as stress-free as possible.

But no, maybe I will save eating strawberry jam for some other desperate occasion in my life and not now.

*I googled ube and it turned out purple yam. I do not know how accurate is that. Do you know what is ube in English?

23 thoughts on “The Revenge of the Angry Purple Yam

  1. Pingback: Excuse Me, Your Neighbor Wants A Word « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. ” Situations will always arise which will push you to change your mind and go the other way. It points out the importance of keeping an open mind, having an accepting attitude, and not discriminating food ”

    Nung friday nakapanood ako ng mga modern day cannibas. Yung isa binastedsya ng nililigawan nya kaya binaril nya sa batok tapos kinain nya; search mo Issei Sagawa. sabi nya di daw makakain ang girl’s breast kasi puro taba… pinakamasarap daw yung thigh.

Leave a Reply

