A Season Of Fire

One of my very best friends from the university publication posted photos of our times participating in competitive campus journalism conferences, and looking at them, seeing myself smiling somewhere sandwiched by my most beloved friends…

Somehow, these photos seem to me like they were taken in some other life, where everything was simpler, where I did not drink a minimum of two cups of coffee per day, where my biggest problems were the date of our latest releases.

I felt a pang inside me, and for split second I hated life for always having its way of bringing people together in a most special bond, only to break them up as they go in each other’s way.

As I look into these photos, I saw glimpses of who I am today, of who I was once, and of who I will become in the future, though technically at present, there is nothing more that I would want than to be sandwiched by the same people all over again and get lost in a wave of their impeccable laughs, their mental orgasms that come like lightning to a rod, and yes, even their scolding and dagger stares.

We raged and raged against the dying of the lights… but I guess, we had it coming.

Life always happens.

24 thoughts on “A Season Of Fire

  1. nostalgic post from PM. i like.
    i remember the people who used to be a constant presence in my life. as you said, life always happens and the road of life brought us to different directions.

    have a great week!

    • i’m not sure how i feel about times when nostalgia hits you like water from a broken damn. have a nice week too πŸ™‚

  2. All changes, even the most longed for, have their melancholy; for what we leave behind us is a part of ourselves; we must die to one life before we can enter another. ~Anatole France

  3. they say so many millions or billions of cells in our body die every day. we are always renewing ourselves. probably, you aren’t even the same person in those photos as you are now. and i doubt that life got much simpler in the interim. you probably just forgot how confused you were at the time.
    on the theory that we are always rebuilding ourselves, growing and becoming wiser, enjoy who you are today because you are beautiful and because you are you, prinsesa.

    • i do enjoy who i am and i’m glad for those photos because they reminded me of a time when i was just figuring myself out.

Leave a Reply

