Not Celebrating Father’s Day

I cannot say a lot about Don Domeng. Often he is the one doing the talking and I am the one doing all the laughing. He has a lot of stories, and as much as they amuse me, most of the time I always ask “Tunay ba yan? [Is that true?]” at the end.

You can’t really blame me. When you hear stories about stealing turkeys, displaying a cow head in the middle of the kitchen to drive out Hindus, mauling with a priest, and spending the morning of your graduation in jail, you really have to ask.

We spend a lot of time at home, and though we both suck at feeding all the animals in our domestic zoo, I have to say, it is one of the best advantages of working from home. We save a little off SMS. LOL.

There are a few things that come to mind now about him. One, he is the primary care taker of Holy Cow, the cow I recently bought; two, he runs to the pharmacy no matter what time each time I run out of pain relievers; and three, he has yet to buy a Tooth Fairy costume to be my cupcake shop’s delivery man.

But seriously, I don’t think I need to say any kind words just to give you an idea how good Don Domeng is to me and to our family. All I can say is, when people look at me, I do not want them to say I am the girl who can write killer verses or the one who cannot carry a tune who can bake a storm. I want them to say I am the girl who has the best Dad in the whole world… because I really do.

In reality, I do not need a Father’s Day. I do not need the third week of June to remind me how important Don Domeng is and how much I should celebrate him. Each night before I go to sleep, I thank the Lord for the gift of my father, especially because I know not all fathers are as wonderful as he is, and because I know my father is my honor.

Between my Tatay and I, every day is Father’s Day, the only difference with this one is that everyone is joining in on the fun too.  I guess for most people, this is a good excuse for them to say thanks to their fathers, or to tell them they love them. Maybe I am just lucky to be able to do both every day of my life.

Happy Father’s Day to my Don Domeng and to all the great fathers out there. 🙂

24 thoughts on “Not Celebrating Father’s Day

  1. very true! ako din i never celebrate father’s day with my papa. but i made sure na kapag may pagkakataon eh ipinaparamdam ko sa kanyang love ko sya at importante sya sa aming lahat.

    belated happy father’s day to your don domeng!

  2. that’s true, they don’t need a special day to remind them how special they. however, they need this special day to force 🙂 their loved ones to give them all these electronic gadgets that they don’t want to get for themselves because they think of their kids tuition first 🙂

  3. aww. i didn’t made the exact day of greeting your dad. but it’s better late than never, right? belated happy father’s day to your dad!

    thanks for visiting and commenting to my blog btw. 🙂

  4. Happy Father’s Day to all the great Dads out there. My Dad passed away more than 10 years ago so will not be celebrating, but will be thinking of him and remembering the happier times.

Leave a Reply

