Cebu Food Trip: Danggit, Dried Mangoes, CNT Lechon and Gellatisimo!

After theΒ Basilica de Sto. Nino mass, my friend Rem and I went to Carbon Market to get some Danggit (Cebu’s popular dried fish) and dried mangoes. Turns out, Danggit in this market is hard to find! We walked for so long, my feet hurt and they also got wet! See, you can throw a bucket of water at my face and I would be fine, just do not get my feet wet. 😦

I do not know how long we walked but we could not find a single Danggit store. To make matters worse, it seemed as if the store keepers were also not sure if there was any Danggit at the market!

But after what felt like forever, I smelled something fishy and we finally found one stall selling Danggit. Can you believe that? One stall in the middle of the huge Carbon Market! To think my friend found Carbon Market at the web saying it was a great place to shop. And no, there were no dried mangoes, and the lady at a local bakery even told us that you can only find dried mangoes at the mall! 😯

I went on a shopping frenzy when I saw this stall. I bought Danggit and dried pusit (squid). But they are all gone now. πŸ˜† They tasted good though and that made the walk worth it. Did I ever find dried magoes in Cebu? Yes, at the mall. 😳

For lunch we ate at CNT lechon (roast pig). Again this is Google’s suggestion. What can I say? It tasted so good! The lechon was awesome and I automatically felt like I was truly in Cebu with each bite, which was apt because the tagline of CNTlechon is, “the taste of Cebuanos”. Pretty cool right? They also got great crab. I do not know what you call that dish, well, just look at the photo and kindly tell me. πŸ˜€

We got a half kilo of CNT lechon because we thought we were so hungry but we were not able to finish it. I get so full easily. I guess that is a bad thing. I do not have a photo of the actual lechon because there was so much people blocking it. It is like pandesalΒ (yeast bread) in the morning! Everyone wants it! You can hear people buying three kilos, five kilos. I wonder how bad cardiovascular diseases are in Cebu? πŸ˜†

For dessert, we just ate at the mall. After all, we had to find dried mangoes right? We had artisan gellato at Gellatisimo, which I knew from a newspaper ad that I saw during the morning. It was my first time to try gellato and it was really satisfying, not too icy and not too sweet. I had roasted almond and veronesse, while my friend went with mango-lime.

I was not able to finish my cup, again, because I got full fast. But it was really good. The food I tasted at Cebu was really satisfying. I still get dreams about CNT lechon. πŸ˜†

23 thoughts on “Cebu Food Trip: Danggit, Dried Mangoes, CNT Lechon and Gellatisimo!

  1. Pingback: Tours And Attractions: Bataan Food Trip Brings Life To Death March « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. we ordered lechon from CNT and it was cancelled because they told us that their pigs got stranded due to typhoon sendong.. pigs are happy, i’m sure. they wouldn’t be slaughtered yet..

    • oh wow if pigs could smile i’m sure they were all wearing huge, toothy ones! but you know cnt lechon is really tasty, so tasty in fact i still get dreams about it! πŸ˜€

  3. Pingback: PM’s Fork: Itallianis, Marquee Mall, Angeles City « Prinsesa's Anatomy

    • hi selle! i do not remember the exact amount but my friend told me it was around Php 150. there were two of us and we were not able to finish the half kilo of lechon. it tasted awesome though! πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Cebu Tourist Spots: Magellan’s Cross, Fuerza De San Pedro, And The Taoist Temple « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  5. the best talaga ang cebu lechon! yum! kami, we dont really buy danggit. my father hs a friend wo sends us, for free, our regular stock of danggit.

    i love dried mangoes. sa mall lang talaga yan. better sana if you bought from the source itself. i forgot the brand itself, pero alam ko para silang good shepherd’s sa baguio, meaning they have an “outlet” where you can buy the products. πŸ™‚

    • i think i am a bad traveler kg. i do not have a clue where to get stuff at the place i visit. i do not even know where to go! buti na lang may kasama ako πŸ˜† ang saya nyo naman free danggit!

  6. I have not been to CNT lechon since my three trips there were spent with (2 trips) the boss who is SDA, and (1 trip) kids who wants Jollibee instead. Arggghhhh.

  7. i love danggit!!!! alemanya na kami ulit, huling hirit na pala namin yung pagpunta sa inyong resort e. mabuti na lang. we enjoyed it and the girls want to go back. sa sunod ulit. alam mo bang araw-araw kaming andun sa plaza resto? hehehe, sarap din dun. ano ngang pangalan nun??

Leave a Reply

