PM’s Fork: Saverde

I have been meaning to post about Saverde for a long time but I guess I have been lazy updating my blog so it took awhile. Anyway, I found this little cafe last month and in all the coffee shops here in the province, this one is my new favorite for many reasons.

Saverde is just outside the city and it is smacked in the middle of a residential area. I doubt that there is anyone who will find this cafe by accident because you will never suspect that this quaint cafe is there in the middle of all the houses in this narrow street in Abucay, Bataan.

Unlike most coffee shops, Saverde’s price tag is definitely cheaper, which makes it all the more a great escape from the city. The interior is very traditional with dark and warm wood colors and if only the aroma of fresh roasted coffee beans permeate the air the moment you open the door, that could have made Saverde heaven for me.

However, in my opinion, the best thing that you can get from this cafe is not its hot coffee but the luscious, rich, and very flavorful beef tapa that they serve. The plate costs only Php 75 and you get tender, moist, and succulent beef tapa flakes on top of a nice and soft bed of rice wrapped inside an omelet. The presentation is phenomenal. You can either start your food at one corner or break it in the middle to dig in. Compared to other beef tapa plates that can cost anywhere between Php200 – Php120, Saverde’s beef tapa gives you the most bang for your buck without a doubt.

I also enjoy the iced coffee drinks of Saverde, as well as their fantastic buttermilk toast that you can get for only Php20. It is a slice of bread that I am guessing is dipped in buttermilk then toasted to perfection. The top is this sweet, caramel, and crunchy bread that totally surprised me. I did not expect it to be that tasty, but it really was very good.

The baked pasta are also delicious and I particularly like their nachos because it is nothing but nachos, cheese sauce, and some spaghetti sauce. I like the nakedness of it. It is so basic but the warm nachos and the cheese instantly start a party in your mouth. My only wish is that there is more cheese and I can live without the sauce.

I totally like Saverde: the ambiance, the food, and the price. If they would serve soup and more potato dishes, I would consider marrying My Man tomorrow just so I can live near the coffee shop. Hmm.. no, that did not sound right, did it? πŸ˜†

19 thoughts on “PM’s Fork: Saverde

  1. Pingback: Tapsilog Rolls Recipe: Filipino Classic Reinvented « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. Pingback: Tours And Attractions: Bataan Food Trip Brings Life To Death March « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  3. Pingback: Best Of 2011: The Year In A Jar « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  4. yang mga ganyang hole in the wall talagang masarap kainan yan. i have/had a friend who hails from abucay, i simply love her accent πŸ™‚

    sana makarating ako jan someday.

  5. This makes me want to go there and splurge and splurge and splurge. I really want to experience customer satisfaction at its best and at the same time make the most out of the food.

    • oo nakakatuwa talaga. what i appreciate most about the price is the fact that you can bring the whole family and treat them for lunch or whatever without dying from the cost, which is what usually happens with other coffee shops. sulit πŸ˜€ plus it is quieter in saverde compared to others. i am very much willing to take the 5-10 minute drive to reach it outside the city. and i forgot to mention that service is fast too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

