One Death, A Funeral, And A Poinsettia Pot

The weekend opened with unexpected events. Kulot’s pet fighting fish Abdul, which she kept for one year, 3 months, and 26 days, lied belly up on his mansion sized bowl. She discovered the death of Abdul herself, there were no signs of foul play or suicide, and the events that followed truly had no explanation. πŸ˜†

She mourned for an entire day, fat cheeks rolling one after the other, while asking, “Bakit ba kasi namatay si Abdul? Nalulungkot ako [Why did Abdul have to die? It saddens me].”

This looked really serious so I cradled the humongous fish bowl downstairs for Don Domeng to see. He was equally fond of Abdul and every night he would check out on him near Kulot’s dresser and tap on his bowl. More than once I told him not to do that because who know’s what that does to Abdul’s ears.

When I told him Abdul passed, he called our nanny and said, “Kumuha ka ng dahon ng saging at giniling. Pwede pa yang si Abdul [Stuff Abdul with ground meat and wrap him in banana leaves].” πŸ˜†

Of course he was joking, or at least I hoped he was. He went to see Kulot, lying down on her bed, still in tears. “O pano ngayon yan, saan natin ililibing si Abdul eh Muslim yan, hindi naman yan tatangapin sa libingan ng Katoliko. [How are we going to bury Abdul when there is only a Catholic cemetery here?]” πŸ˜›

We were laughing as all this unfolded and Kulot would snap at us “Wag nyoΒ kong tawanan. Bakit nasubukan nyo na ba mag-alaga ng isda? [Don’t mock me. Have you experienced having a pet fish before?]” We really tried not to laugh but it was so hard. My Man came in the afternoon and Kulot was sleeping then. When she woke up he told her, “Maj, nakikiramay ako [Condolences].” My Man was Abdul’s roommate after all, each time he would sleep in. All Kulot could say was “Salamat [Thank you].”
During dinner, I asked where did they bury Abdul. My sister called one of our cats and Kulot wailed when she heard. My other sister said it was just a joke, and they did bury Abdul, but the other cat dug him up and had him for dessert. πŸ˜€ In truth, our nanny buried Abdul under the atis [sweet sop] tree.

The next day I visited our friend priest, Fr. Nuguid. I told him about what happened to Abdul and said it was too bad he was not around yesterday to give the fighting fish his last rites. I did not mention Abdul’s religion. He told me that was okay and he gave me a pot of poinsettia, which I am guessing was their church decoration the past holidays season. He told me to give it to Kulot and say his condolences.

I carried the pot with me for the rest of the day and I even had it with me on the jeep ride home. I arrived pretty late yesterday but I immediately gave the plant to Kulot and said it was for Abdul’s grave. I’m not really sure if there is an afterlife for fighting fish but if there is an afterlife for one thing, for sure there is for everything. Thank you Abdul for all the laugh. πŸ™‚

20 thoughts on “One Death, A Funeral, And A Poinsettia Pot

  1. Pingback: Failing Forward Book Review: Three Steps Forward, Two Back Is Still One Forward « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. Abdul the Muslim fish should have been wrapped in pure white blanket and buried in a shallow grave – not 6 ft.. – that’s too deep – to comply with tradition πŸ™‚ I would have given Abdul a more natural farewell – by putting him to coast downstream in a nearby river πŸ˜‰

  3. Marami kaming isdang pet. Marami na ring namatay thru the years. Kaya dapat walang mapapadpad na CSI sa likod bahay namin otherwise we have a lot to explain to authorities πŸ™‚

  4. Ha ha … very funny. It’s really hard to feel sad about the death of a fish, although it can be a pet – I don’t think it can really draw emotions as losing a cat or a dog. And yes – nasubukan ko rin mag-alaga ng fish, we called her big eyes. One day, whilst cleaning up her tank with a siphon, she came too close that her eyes got suck out (gross). Rather than see her suffer – we decided to euthanise her and after which we have to decide how to bury her. After a brief discussion – we decided to give her a burial at sea – and flush her πŸ™‚

    • wow that’s tough but i like the logic of the sea burial. πŸ˜› i haven’t gotten the chance to have a pet fish. i really want pets i can touch. now we are thinking of getting kulot a turtle and name him ninja :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

