The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Nighttime Book Review: When Weird Is Normal

I read The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-time (Book number 14) by M. Haddon as suggested by LM Pataki. She said I’d like it because Christopher, the main character, is a high functioning autistic (anyone else you know like that? :shock:). Of course, she was right because I related to Christopher in so many ways I’m almost embarrassed to admit πŸ˜† But that’s okay because as The Daily Telegraph Review of the book went, “The best lives are lived where difference is cherished” so I guess I don’t mind the striking resemblance.

The story is supposed to be a mystery, where Christopher seeks out the murderer of their neighbor’s dog ala Sherlock Holmes. But really, it is some sort of family drama and coming of age tale similar to The Perks Of Being A Wallflower. It was very obvious who killed Wellington though and the real mystery for me here is Christopher. He is so different from everyone yet he appears to be the only normal person within the book. He is highly logical, pretty gifted, and he takes on life in a very mechanical, almost stoic manner. I loved how he often thinks normal people are stupid because they consume themselves with so much imagined stuff and they believe in only what is advantageous for them.

Prime numbers are what is left when you have taken all the patterns away. I think prime numbers are like life. They Β are very logical but you could never work out the rules, even if you spend all your time thinking about them.

The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-time challenges your empathy, as to how long you can go in understanding and reaching out to Christopher. The book manages to relate his experiences so well and it leads you to think what you would do if you were the one dealing with him. I certainly felt the difficulties of Christopher, of how hard it is to cope, to be understood, and sometimes, to just be left alone. For someone who lived with timetables, diagrams, and plans, it must have been devastating for him to find out that life is indeed a bitch that his lists cannot explain most days.

But what I did not like about this book is how Christopher’s father became the sort of enemy towards the end. He is the one who truly loved and understood Christopher in so many ways his adulterer mother cannot but still he had to suffer because of the choices he made regarding the care of Christopher. Oh well, I guess in life it is really true how we hurt those we loved the most.

All in all, The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-time is a very entertaining read for me and you might find it curious too if you are open to embrace a different kind of protagonist. I found beauty in the simplistic way Christopher tried to view life and really, most days our days will be better if we let go of the drama.

On the photo: The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-time from My Man. (thank you babe :)) I finished it right after I read Where She Went and now I’m halfway reading The Happiness Project. Happy Weekend!

21 thoughts on “The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Nighttime Book Review: When Weird Is Normal

  1. Pingback: Day 19: 30 Days Of Blogging Honesty And One Dare Or That Movie You Saw « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. Pingback: Day 19: 30 Days Of Blogging Honesty And One Dare « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  3. I’m glad you enjoyed it! At ang bilis bilis mo nga magbasa! I was still in college when I read this and I think it took me about two weeks to finish the book. Of course, kasama na don yung pagpapanggap ko na nag aaral ako and all. LOL

    I remember that time din, I lent it to the first person I fell in love with (classmates kami), he finished it although he never stopped mocking me for loving the book. Pareho raw kami ni Christopher. He didn’t know I’ve always taken pride on being weird. Haha

    • i did, thanks. talaga binasa nya? sometimes i tell my man to read some books i finished reading but i don’t mean the suggestion because i know he is not into reading that much. πŸ˜† i also take pride in being weird, apir!

  4. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Pero ang bilis bilis mo nga magbasa! I was still in college when I read this and I think this took me about two weeks to finish. Of course, kasama na dun yung pagpapanggap ko na nag aaral ako. LOL

    • sometimes i find it a relief that a book is thin. i don’t mind the width of a book though as long as it is good. thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. πŸ™‚

    • thank you for the mention of that book. i will try to look it up too. this book is widely available and it is around PHP 300 i think.

  5. one of my favorite books ever. i have the author’s other book (a spot of bother) but i haven’t read it yet.
    —–
    ang dami mo ng books nabasa this year. inggit!

Leave a Reply

