Day 06: 30 Days Of Blogging Honesty And One Dare Or How To Make Steamed And Fried Siomai At The Same Time

Today is Maundy Thursday here, the Holy Week celebration is almost peaking, but still I want to keep up with the 30 Days Of Blogging Honesty And One Dare challenge. I have yet to see Day 05 from the other participants though. My day begins first so I am kind of ahead by a few hours from everyone else but again, it is so fun to read about how other people react to certain situations and comparing that with my own impulses. Plus this also means I get to blog everyday so really, “So Much Win!” πŸ˜€

Day 06: My worst cooking disaster involved _____________ and this person/these people…

I don’t cook much… I don’t even cook at all. I mentioned in my easy pancake breakfast post that I am not the most domesticated person in the world. I can’t cook even to save my life. The only thing I make is siomai or steamed pork dumplings. But it does not mean I have not created disaster even if it is the only thing I can do…

Last year, My Man and I were on the beach with my sisters and some friends and I decided to make siomai. Unfortunately, while the siomai was steaming away, My Man and I had a disagreement and I was so into it that I forgot about the siomai! They ended up being fried instead. The steamer was black and all the water gone! But if it were any consolation, we still got to eat the siomai, albeit with a strong smoked unintended flavor added, and My Man and I made good too soon enough. πŸ™‚

As an added treat, I want to go all the way with my kitchen disaster post and share with you the biggest baking disaster of my life. You can read about how to make toblerone rock cake here and how I picked up my dignity and ego here.

Photo above taken from here.

26 thoughts on “Day 06: 30 Days Of Blogging Honesty And One Dare Or How To Make Steamed And Fried Siomai At The Same Time

  1. Pingback: PM Cooks: How To Make The Best Tasting Siomai Ever, A Pork Dumpling Recipe « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. Pingback: 10 Most Delicious Things In The World « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  3. I just dig men who knows and love to cook! At least the siomai survived diba, edible and all πŸ™‚ Just think of the siomai as a love offer from your man, mala “Siomai o, to sio-mai love for you”

    Eeeeeek I’am so corny like that. wenkwenkwenkwenk

  4. I don’t cook either. My abilities in the kitchen are very limited, although I could cook for myself. The cook in the fam is the mister. Only last night I burned the frozen pizza, so I served the burned pizza to guests. Thankfully, we have other food to serve them.

  5. At least you still got to eat it. I’d love to taste your siomai. I’d love to learn how to make them. πŸ™‚

    • siomai are not difficult to make… exactly the reason why i can make them! πŸ˜† but i’m really proud of my siomai because even when it is the only thing i can make, they taste killer good. πŸ˜€

  6. I have also tried making siomai once, but I am too lazy to do so now,I guess it will take a lot of whimpering from my kids to make me fix a batch for them again, but for now, I can afford buying the thing so I guess, I will just have to buy.

    • i guess i don’t try so much tom. i’m just glad i’m not forced to cook, at least not yet. but i’m interested enough, i think. the other link is my baking disaster. i tried baking a cake for my man’s birthday. it did not work out right that first time. 😳

Leave a Reply

