With One Lousy Free Packet Of Seed Book Review: On Garden Sheds, Cupcakes, And Pitchforks

Book number 23: With One Lousy Free Packet of Seed by L. Truss. For someone who doesn’t read a lot, My Man awfully buys tons and tons of books, this one included in his latest haul. Thank you, Babe. ๐Ÿ™‚

What it is: The book circles on one big, bizarre misunderstanding, which is quite funny at times and stupid in others, concerning some pretty quirky people working for a dying gardening magazine, which existed since the Jurassic era, and the equally quirky people who bought the magazine to close it . With One Lousy Free Packet of Seed is filed under a comic novel, but I did not find it that hilarious as expected; in fact, from other reviews I’ve seen, it’s either you totally have hysterics over it or completely miss it and even find it boring. There is also a mystery bit to it and a romance side which harbors on high school crushes and the like.

What I liked about it: I can name specific things I liked on the book: the fact that it concerns a magazine office, the main character, Osborne Lonsdale has “a liberality with cupcakes bordering on saintliness” with a personal record of eight cupcakes in one sitting, and there is a rabbit involved in the story. There are flashes of humor and wit but not all the way through. The presentation of the ending is quite nice too.

What I did not like about it: For a 210 page book, it certainly took me longer to finish With One Lousy Free Packet of Seed than usual. It started very slow and the story is not so solid. There are tons of characters within, all flat no less, but I must admit I enjoyed their neurosis. I’m also not certain if it’s just me or there is just noย acceptableย reason to use words like abstemiousness, nugatory, perambulation, atavistic,ย innocuous, and betokening in a novel… or is it because With One Lousy Free Packet of Seed is British? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Recommended for: People who want to test their humor, those interested in knowing garden sheds and the many creative uses of pitchforks.

Special thanks to my cousin Alex and his fiance Pern for the bookmark from Thailand. Next time I’d visit and get my own! ๐Ÿ™‚

11 thoughts on “With One Lousy Free Packet Of Seed Book Review: On Garden Sheds, Cupcakes, And Pitchforks

  1. Pingback: Walking Through The Cemetery Of My Not So Forgotten Books | Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. Pingback: Gone Girl Book Review: Maybe I’ll Just Marry Bacon | Prinsesa's Anatomy

  3. Pingback: The Casual Vacancy Book Review: JK Rowling Stick To Wizards, Please! « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  4. Pingback: I Am Half-Sick Of Shadows Book Review: Just What Christmas Needed « Prinsesa's Anatomy

  5. For someone who did not quite enjoy the book, you were able to put some really interesting things here but even so, I don’t think I’d read this particular book. ๐Ÿ™‚ gardening isn’t for me and I don’t think I’d be interested to know how I can use pitchforks extensively, so thank you, but no thanks. :))

    • i really do have that problem, don’t i? ๐Ÿ˜† yes, don’t read this one. but read the book thief, that is one nice book.

    • Oh, and I hate words such as the one you mentioned above. Why people would use such, compelling their readers to have a dictionary by their side also escapes me. ๐Ÿ˜€

      There’s one book pala that I haven’t finished til now. Eat, pray love. I don’t know why many people like it. I just found the author stupid for whining all the time about her almost perfect life. I don’t have any problem with going on a spontaneous journey to three different countries as long as one can sustain that kind of whim, I just found her problems so shallow compared to the many things happening around her. I felt like telling her to wake up and look around her. maybe if she stopping being overly self-centered and started opening her eyes to the suffering around her, she’d realize just how stupid she was for complaining about life.

        • i read that book before. i liked the first two chapters, the last not so. i see where you are coming from but i think i also understand the author and her first world problems. ultimately, i think you are in deeper trouble if everything is alright but you are still struggling. it is saner to have trouble then despair than flip out out of nowhere and feel the world crumbling down.

  6. Recommended for: People who want to test their humor, those interested in knowing garden sheds and the many creative uses of pitchforks. — naku, mukhang di ito para sa akin! haha!

Leave a Reply

