PM’s Silver Anniversary: A Happy Birthday Post

I wrote my first poem when I was three years old. It’s a little rhyme about the moon that went like this:

Buwan, buwan, may tao ka ba?

Wala, wala, ako’y nag-iisa.

Gusto mo bang samahan kita?

I forgot what went next but I’m sure there are a few words left somewhere there.

At 11 years old, my knack for writing was accidentally discovered. The first time I joined a competition, I reached up to the regional level and won first place in our division. I never knew it but this time would be a defining moment in my life.

A year after, I was 12 years old, I became friends with this 19 year old guy, who refused to believe I was 12, and he ended up really liking me. He was very nice and cute but c’mon, I was barely entering high school.

My Man and I met during sophomore year. Both of us were 14 years old then but we did not date. He did pursue me for some time but he ended up falling in love with computer games more than me πŸ˜† so we ended up being strange friends all the way to senior year.

When I entered college atΒ 16 years old, I got listed by the university publication and was given a sports column right at the get go. It started my foray into competitive campus journalism, and I made a killing – I mean it, think of the stuff that makes legends, that sort of thing.

My Man and I found each other again around this time too and we hanged out a lot and decided we would like to hang out every day with each other until we realized, “Hey, we are in a relationship!” πŸ˜† I’ve mentioned this many times, but we don’t have any anniversary or whatever because we just happened and it’s awesome.

I was 21 years old when I had my first job as a part time chemistry instructor at private college in the city. All my students were older than me because they were engineering students and chemistry was their back subject. They were all rascals but I scared them shitless. That class was the most fun I ever handled as a teacher.Β This took place in the summer and after that I became a clinical instructor for the state university where I graduated. The whole experience inspired my article for Youngblood Inquirer.

Now the most fun of my life began when I was 22 years old. I changed careers and became a content writer. Β It was like living a dream and every damn day I can’t be any more grateful. πŸ™‚

Today, I turn 25 years old and I can tell you I’m having the time of my life. If I live up to 100 then this would be my silver year. My life is far from perfect but you know what, I choose to revel in all the imperfections, and while some things could have gotten better in the past, I wouldn’t change a thing, because no matter what, I’m living mighty fine and I’m glad.

Happy birthday to me. πŸ™‚

Photos taken from here and here.

40 thoughts on “PM’s Silver Anniversary: A Happy Birthday Post

  1. That poem you wrote when you were three was deep even for a teenager. Probably better than what I could ever come up with. πŸ˜„

    I wish my life had more structure. And I wish I had more defined aspirations. Hanggang ngayon I still don’t know what exactly I want to do, except magpayaman. πŸ˜† When I was 12 I spent all my time playing computer games, tas ikaw nag susulat na! Winner!

    Belated happy birthday, PM! And please understand that as I am typing this I am imagining you looking like the cat on the photo above with the party hat on. Hope you had a blast! πŸ˜€

    • thank you. i’ve always imagined myself too much of an over achiever for my sake πŸ˜† gusto ko din magpayaman! i’m a late bloomer when it came to computer games. i discovered it when i was in college already!

  2. It’s been a while, PM and I know this is so late but nonetheless,
    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!! (all caps to shout it out!!!) I know you had a blast.

    And you’re only 25? So I’m 11 years senior than you. Oh well, those are only numbers, right? πŸ™‚

    • thank you πŸ™‚ 11 years is nothing. you’re right, they’re just numbers. i’m sure if we hang out we’ll still have a blast.

  3. oh, man! i missed your birthday!… belated happy birthday prinsesa musang! πŸ™‚ i wish you all the best that are best for you… πŸ™‚

  4. Happy birthday PM! I’m so happy for you that so early in life, you found out what makes you happy. You found your niche. I’m 10 years older than you and I’m still looking. (booo!)

    Enjoy your day and may you write more beautiful and inspiring articles… and may you scare more people too! hehe…

    God bless,

    Kwala

    • thank you kwala. i wish you the best in life too and i hope you find what you’re looking for! i’m just so stoked to have more fun the coming days. πŸ˜€

  5. PM!!! Happy Happy Birthday to you!!! I see that you are really enjoying and loving the life you have now! and way to go on that for pursuing what you truly want because that inspires a lot to go pursue their own too. πŸ™‚

    • thanks tina, you’re a sweetheart. i’m quite happy with how things are going for me. some things can be more perfect but i have not much to complain so i’m just really grateful and hopefully the positive feeling will stay with me for long. πŸ™‚

  6. I wish I had this kind of birthday realizations this year, kaso I was on my feet and in tears during my birthday. Anyway, I wish you love and good vibes on your birthday dear PM. Stay awesome as always, okay. Cheers to you birthday girl πŸ™‚

    PS.- the cupcakes are just puuuurfect! πŸ˜€

    • thanks! i think we never lost each other. i think that is what is great about it even when we did not date right at the get go. it just made it more interesting! πŸ˜€

    • nakalimutan ko na nga yung kasunod eh. noon pa man pala may fixation na ako sa moon. diba gusto ko kainin yung moon nung lumaki na ako? πŸ˜† salamat!

  7. I guess our birthdays this year really became a defining moment for both of us. I’ve read your blog posts before and now that I am reading this, I can’t stop smiling.

    I am so happy your having a blast! Stay awesome!

Leave a Reply

