Bad Poetry Weekend #5: What Happens When You Touch The Sun

fire

Have I ever told you I’m a very possessive lady? Yes, I’m territorial, obsessive, pathetic. πŸ˜† I’m never good at sharing and kind of stubborn when it comes to getting what I want.Β At the surface, this can be annoying but you got to admit there’s something damn sexy about it too: inspiring someone to want to own you, consume you and helplessly give in.

So that’s the theme of Bad Poetry Weekend #5. I stumbled upon this immaculate song by Measure, Closer, and I wrote these words while listening to it. What do you think?Β Normally, I’m not sensual but this song is just killer. Sound off on how the verses went with you, okay? Have a good weekend!

The Fire Thief

Love, you stole fire from the sky
I see it burning in your eyes
And I don’t know why
I’m helplessly drawn in
To the fire storm that you are.

Love, you are a burningΒ apocalypse
Smoldering in red; fierce yet gentle
And I don’t know why
I’m hanging around knowing I’m
Paper, flammable to your touch.

Love, you watch me go from white
to dark, from dark to nothing,
And I don’t know why the faint smoke
Never dies and heaven throws scorched
Pieces of me flaming snow from the sky.

Love, you consume me as your intent
Owning my days and nights
And I don’t know why me, why you
But we lay here, exhausted but not spent
Hiding in clear,Β ablaze, unbroken.

Photo taken from here.

 

61 thoughts on “Bad Poetry Weekend #5: What Happens When You Touch The Sun

  1. Pingback: Bad Poetry Weekend #6: That Moment When Duct Tape Can’t Fix Everything | Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. eargasm + poem = INTENSE! grabe lang!

    same tayo… territorial and never good at sharing… pero nasa process na ko ng pagbabago—ata? πŸ˜† cheers!

    • i’m glad you enjoyed them. salamat ha! good luck on your transformation. i’m in the same road. it’ll be hard but a part of me is certain it’ll be totally worth it. πŸ™‚

  3. I didn’t know this song before but it’s,really good and fit’s your topic PERFECTLY. BTW, this isn’t bad poetry. lol Contrary. Oh and yep, I’ve been know to be fairly possessive in my younger years. I grew out of it, kind of. It just didn’t pay and it drove me crazier than it did anyone else. lol

    • thank you, i just heard the song on tv while don domeng is watching. the lyrics stuck to me and i did a search, got mind blown eventually and this is the result. well, yes, maybe this isn’t that bad but it did start bad and i’m sure i’ll get bad ones out there in time so let’s just leave the name for now until i come up with the necessary confidence to change it, okay? πŸ˜† i admire people who have that certain brand of coolness to just let relationships be as they are, let people be as they are. i’m still learning that bit but is quite proud of how i’ve done so far.

      • Oh I like the name bad poetry day. I just wanted you to tell me that you really knew it wasn’t bad poetry. lmao Just checking. But really, I think you should keep the name because of the irony. AND it covers you in the event that you really DO come up with some bad poetry. I wish I could write ANY poetry, good or bad. I used to, in hs but that’s back when the world was new and full of possibilities. It’s just hard to write anything at all now. But I love reading it because it makes me feel πŸ™‚

        • thank you, yes, i will. πŸ™‚ i don’t even know why i’m keeping up with this but i do know how and why it started. you can try, you know, just put some thoughts on paper. with me, i find that i need inspiration. if i’m not inspired then that’ll be a really bad day for anything. i had to struggle with this awhile back but i’m okay now, thankfully!”

          • I hear you about inspiration. Mine was always a broken heart or being lovesick. Or hatred for my dad and mom. lol Ahh.. the problems of the young. I used to ALWAYS need music though when I’d write. I DO remember that. Maybe I will try again. We’ll see πŸ˜‰

            • i guess it doesn’t matter what inspires you, as long as it works then hey, no complaints. good luck and looking forward to reading your bad poetry, lady!

    • ooo you like it hot, lady? πŸ˜€ salamat. yes, i’m territorial, sometimes irrationally territorial but i try to control myself as much as i can. but i think i’ve simmered down a bit compared to when i was younger. you should’ve seen me then, i’m an asshole. how about you, do you tend to be territorial too?

      • I like it scorching hot! HAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAHAAAAA! Yes, I tend to be irrationally territorial sometimes. That’s ’cause I trust my lady instincts. πŸ˜‰ It’s not like I jump into conclusions right away; I do my research and connect the dots. Not bragging but it’s funny how my theories turn out to be right every damn time. Trust issues, I think they come in handy most times!

        I guess what I’m trying to say is when your gut tells you something, try not to ignore it.

        • ooo, we got a hot one over here! πŸ˜€ lady instincts, i like that. but i can’t tell you i have much of that, elaine. my friends tell me i’m unassuming to the point of stupid. but don’t worry, i’ll try to work on using my gut to feel stuff and listen to it when it tells me something; well apart from i’m hungry or something, that is. πŸ˜†

        • np at all and thank you so much. i love the interesting bits you shared about yourself. i’ll try to put up something apart from crap about me, though i imagine it’ll be hard. πŸ˜† thank you for your appreciation. you make me smile.

          • Thanks for thinking my little life is interesting! lol Oh and I don’t think you’ll have a problem, at all, if you just open up a teeny bit πŸ˜‰ I say that because I think once you get started letting us “peek” into your world, you’re going to keep intriguing us. I don’t know why specifically but everything I’ve read from you is just that… intriguing and funny. I think you just only THINK people won’t like you but from what I’ve seen, how can they not? That cat using a machine gun? Come on now, that’s HILARIOUS! Your whole blog is just interesting. lmbo (((hugs))) GOOD to get to know you gf!

            • thank you, you’re the sweetest. πŸ™‚ the best news is i find myself opening up more lately and i feel good about it so we’ll see how this blows. i can always clean up when shit hits the fan anyway, right? πŸ˜†

                • as i said before, i’ve had a change of heart and is now inspired to go out, make as much mess as i can and figure it all out later. it’s surprising how beneficial this is!

                  • You know, that’s what life is all about, making messes and cleaning them up later. I’m SO happy to hear you’ve had a change of heart! Do you mind me asking what inspired you or convinced you that it was okay? It’s okay if you don’t want to answer… the important thing is that you’re letting us all see what a cool person we’ve been missing! lol

                    • yes, actually i’ve been using the term beautiful mess a lot lately. πŸ™‚ thank you for asking. do you know that quote about changing, “when we are no longer able to change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves”? i think that pretty much does it for me.

                    • Yes I know that quote well. I wrote it on a notebook that I used when I was going to counseling! Weird huh? It’s very powerful though and it pretty much summed it up for me and my life too. I’m SO glad you’re at this crossroads. I think beautiful things are about to start happening for you. You just had to walk through that door πŸ™‚

                    • not weird at all. actually, i think someone smart said this too but i can’t remember the name. it’s on how sometimes we get to read things that coincides with our thoughts and feelings and now we read them said by someone else and it’s like this person has just taken our hand and held it. beautiful! πŸ™‚ thank you, i feel the same. turns out i’m right saying at the close of 2012 that this new year has an explosive feel to it!

                    • I’m smiling thinking about this year having an explosive feel to it for you! The world is a beautiful place when it’s filled with possibility!

                      Hopefully my DREAMS will be filled with possibility as well. lmao Nite gf! See you tomorrow;-)

Leave a Reply

