Frankenstein Book Review: How To Create A Monster, Recipe By Mary Shelley

frankenstein

Book number 4: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.

What It Is: There are two scenarios painted by Mary Shelley in Frankenstein: what it is like to be God and what it is like to be human. I’ve always thought Frankenstein is the name of the wretched monster but only after reading the book did I learn Frankenstein is the creator! Briefly, an intelligent lad, Frankenstein, unlocks the formula of life and learns how to create a monster. Well, if you’re using dead body parts to come up with an animated being then you can’t hope for a lot, can you? Gentle in nature but despised and isolated, the monster turns against his creator and what follows is a chase up to the end.

What I Liked About It: To me, Frankenstein is a tragedy more than a horror story. From the beginning up to the end, it is filled with struggles, both internal and external; the internal struggle is constant and tormenting and I appreciate that a lot.

Other elements remind me of the first RDJ Sherlock Holmes movie really, with the mix of science and sorcery, all the science, creation and all that. Marked with rich narration, beautiful imagery, compelling setting, and bright goth insights, Frankenstein is just the right amount of death for the living.

The romance is heartbreaking, but it is not exactly the one between lovers that moved me, but the love between Creation and Creator, or the serious lack thereof that led the monster to revenge. First, Frankenstein plays God and I love the ironic bit that the monster reflects what it is to be human, the good and the bad at that. Suck powerful emotions really that entertained me loads.

frankenstein Volt prez

Throughout the story, I cannot help but relate to the suffering. Frankenstein’s struggles preys on his health, how he cannot share his grief and burden to anybody because it seems insane suffering is relatable; on the monster’s side, how misery made him a fiend – all struggles we all deal with daily.

The ultimate question of morality is also thrown in there: sacrifice your happiness and peace of mind for the rest of the world or be selfish about it? Fantastic. It can be cheesy in some instances to play with this concept but when you have a monster throughout your pages, then it’s just right.

What I Did Not Like About It: I did not buy the ending, the monster having a change of heart because his adversary has died. C’mon, if you choose to be the villain, you have to stick with it! Then again, the narrator, Watson, may be right in saying that the monster “laments only because the victim of your malignity is withdrawn from your power.” I also hate it that a lot of innocent suffered in the story, but necessary of course!

There is also an idea throughout the book where Frankenstein regrets aiming higher and wanting more because it led to trouble. To an extent, I’d like to disagree. Though it’s a case to case basis, there are times when there is a need for more and this is a good thing.

Recommended For: Classics fans, readers who enjoy horror, tragic stuff (but I must admit I liked Dracula more.)

Photos from here and here.

15 thoughts on “Frankenstein Book Review: How To Create A Monster, Recipe By Mary Shelley

  1. Pingback: Read Because Books Don’t Abandon You | Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. Thank you for this. I also thought that Frankenstein is the monster.😀

    I haven’t read a book in the past three weeks, hmm… my brain needs a break. IMY.🙂

    • pareho talaga tayo, lj🙂 imy din! it has been too long. i’ve just finished another book, fall of giants, it’s fantastic, another historical fiction like the book thief.

  3. Ah. Dracula and Frankenstein have gone totally stale on me. But idf I had to choose, I’d choose Dracula to read. ( I have not read both. I’ve been 100% spoiled. )

    Aaaargh, I still don’t get your posts on my email folder.

  4. Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Bat ngayon ko lang to nakita! Bat di lumabas sa “blogs I follow” tong post mo na to!!!! Anu ba tong wordpress.😦

    Anyway, na-enjoy kong basahin ang book review mo! May natutunan na naman akong bagong perspective.🙂 Salamat!

    • another blog friend of mine is having the same issues with my posts, idk why. thanks, what do you mean with the new perspective?

  5. yes! I also thought Frankie’s the actual monster’s name. but it was the poor creature pala. but he’s a good character, a good heart in fucked up body.

    sana mabasa ko rin ang book soon.🙂

  6. You sold me! Shamefully, I haven’t read this one OR Dracula! IKR? CRAZY. I just finished Lady Chatterly’s Lover though so does that give me classic brownie points? lol Anyway, I remember seeing a 1970’s version of Frankenstein when I was little. I remember falling in love with Victor and how I cried at the end. The whole thing was tragic, if I remember right. Thanks for the reminder!

    • have i now? thank you but i’m certain you’re being generous. the book is short, reader friendly enough. dracula, i’m raving about. i totally enjoyed that one. omg i’m looking forward to reading lady chatterly’s lover! how did you find it? fantastic that you’ve mentioned it, lady. have to remember to pick a copy next time i’m near a bookstore. i’m about to finish fall of giants now. it’s truly remarkable!

      • I really wasn’t being generous silly! lol You gave a fantastic book review and made it interesting. Lady Chatterly? I’m in the minority and I’m almost embarrassed to say that I was just mediocre about the whole thing. It was SHOCKING for it’s day, I’m sure but I just didn’t connect with the characters. Every time I say that though, people tell me how much they enjoyed it although it can’t compare with the shock value of 50 shades. lol I didn’t like 50 shades either though. Sometimes, when I say THAT, I feel like I’m entering a lynching atmosphere! lmao I guess I’m just a little strange that way ;-/

Leave a Reply

