Warm Bodies Book Review: Living The Dead Life Rocks

warm bodies

Book no. 11: Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion. After reading, I watched the movie version too, which is just okay compared to the book that I fell in love with.

What it is: Zombie book, not expecting much but was blown away! For something so dead, Warm Bodies bursts with life. It talks about what it’s really like to live and what it’s really like to be a zombie. Clue: being dead has little to do with the differentiation. The humor of this book is fantastic and it is just so reader friendly I completely devoured it in a few hours. Somehow, I get a vibe similar to The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, which I totally loved.

The insights are spot on. It reminded me of the most important things in life and how these things can hurt but it’s only an affirmation of how much they matter. Warm Bodies makes sense. In life, we take so much for granted, we make a big mess of things, when in reality all it takes to really live is simple. I laughed at how it summarized what’s left in the end and how it will always be: “love, sex, blood, and tears” – id things, you know?

What I liked about it: Apart from the wit and humor, the breezy pace and good story telling, lovable characters and interesting perspective on stereotypes, what I greatly appreciate about Warm Bodies is its take on life, quite hopeful.

No matter what happens, no matter how dark it gets, there is always hope for a better future because you have a choice and good things happen when you say yes despite the entire universe saying no. That’s so grand! It’s all about seeking change and moving forward.

You have to try, to do something, to want to start over, and take action and not be afraid. It’s just one of the most beautiful things in the world, isn’t it? These lines are killer too: “But what wonderful thing didn’t start out scary?” and “Who decided life has to be a nightmare? Who wrote that fucking rule? We can fix it, we;ve just never tried before! We’ve always been too busy and selfish and scared.

warm bodies quote

I mentioned it on my book meme, that Warm Bodies came at the perfect time in my life. I needed a little boost and I got it. The insights are just great: being present, because everything you see may be for the last time, and having a go even if nothing is certain, even if there’s no assurance of everlasting for “there’s no benchmark how life’s supposed to happen. There is no ideal world for you to wait around for. The world is always that it is now, and it’s up to you how you respond to it.”

In all, Warm Bodies has that begin again feel similar to The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, like it’s all about giving people – or zombies – a chance to change, be better regardless of how bad it seems. if you don’t give people a chance then whatever bad there is remains.

This says it beautifully: “made so many choices just because I thought they were required… There’s no rule book for the world. It’s in our heads, our collective human hive-mind. If there are rules, we’re the ones making them. We can change them whenever we want to.

What I didn’t like about it: I’d like to disagree on the point where despite of a zombie apocalypse people still pump children “so things keep going.” Are you fucking kidding me?

Recommended for: Fans of paranormal and zombie books, those who enjoy YA fiction, pick up Warm Bodies and have a good time.

Photos taken from here.

10 thoughts on “Warm Bodies Book Review: Living The Dead Life Rocks

  1. Pingback: 2013 Book Hit List: Not Much, But Enough | Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. I didn’t like the movie version of Warm Bodies. It felt a bit shallow to me. Maybe I should read the book, too. And speaking of zombie books, have you read World War Z by Max Brooks? I liked it.

    • my sister finds it funny, how being a zombie is likened to an illness that you can recover from. i enjoyed the book way more. it’s funny and sensible, not shallow at all. i haven’t read the world war z book since i’m not entirely a fan of the zombie lit genre; in fact warm bodies is the first one i’ve read under this.

  3. Great post! True, Warm Bodies has that begin again feeling but it isn’t strong enough. I was thriving more on the cutesy narrative by R. Seriously if all zombies think like that, I wouldn’t mind hooking up with one.

  4. Pingback: Walking Through The Cemetery Of My Not So Forgotten Books | Prinsesa's Anatomy

Leave a Reply

