Definitely Not Your Mama’s Meals

20131012-103740.jpg

There is a time in one’s life when you just stumble upon culinary perfection and you should know that… this is not that time.

No surprise there.๐Ÿ˜†

But I’ve been inspired enough to put my self-respect on the line and force my hands, feet, neck, back, and innards to give cooking a go. I’m not exactly great because cooking depends more on individual taste and the baker that I am, used to specific cups and tablespoons, have issues with that. But I’m trying.

This far I have made meat spaghetti and carbonara with bacon, meatballs, bistek Tagalog, and my favorite dish on the planet, creamy tofu prepared Asian style. Of course, all not good but all edible.๐Ÿ˜‰ The usual pork siomai, sandwiches (my favorite is cheesy bacon), and fried stuff are more than okay though.

I plan to make pork adobo next then chicken caldereta; maybe even go for bubble and squeak and crab cakes after. It’s kind of exciting, now that I think about it.

The key is just having a go. I have surmised that culinary genius is all about your willingness to eat failures as much as successes. I don’t have problems with that. There is always Spam anyway.

2 thoughts on “Definitely Not Your Mama’s Meals

  1. I think that you’re doing so well. I’d be more than willing to try your dishes. Your “spam anyway” is how I say “there is always hotdog anyway”.:). I still have kitchen challenges especially now that I don’t have much time to cook. But the experiments sometimes actually result in new dishes (to my excuse) I’d say “ala Jo/ witsandnuts” to save my face.๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

