2013 Book Hit List: Not Much, But Enough

the catcher in the rye quotes

Scud gave me a good idea today, to list my favorite books of last year. While my 17 for 2013 is a far, pathetic cry from my 43 from 2012, I think the ones I read this year left deeper marks. Most of these 17 are gifts, not a lot has changed, I’m a lucky cat.

I still have an embarrassing book pile though and I intend to digest them sooner. I finished reading Book 1 of 2014, The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick but as I have yet to post my book reviews on the last two of last year, which are Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll and The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach, I guess we’ll talk about Silver Linings another time (it rocks!).

Now to the order of business, the 2013 hit  list. If I do a top 10 I’ll feel funny, because I haven’t read much after all so I’ll just stop at random:

The 2013 Book Hit List

1. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

I can’t go back to yesterday because I was a different person then.

Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?
That depends a good deal on where you want to get to.
I don’t much care where –”
Then it doesn’t matter which way you go.

2. The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

I had wanted life not to bother me too much, and had succeeded – and how pitiful that was.

3. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

Why didn’t I learn to treat everything like it was the last time? My greatest regret was how much I believed in the future.

The mistakes I’ve made are dead to me. But I can’t take back the things I never did.

4. Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

But what wonderful thing didn’t start out scary?

There’s no benchmark how life’s supposed to happen. There is no ideal world for you to wait around for. The world is always that it is now, and it’s up to you how you respond to it.

5. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Safon

Nuria Monfort was like a mirage: you don’t question its veracity, you simply follow it until it vanishes or until it destroys you.

Hope is cruel and has no conscience.

6. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

The only way to get rid of a temptation is to yield to it.

7. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

I can’t explain why I think I can get there, when all the odds are against it. But I do. Even when a big part of me is saying I should give up, I can’t. Even when I don’t want to keep going, I still do it.”

If we don’t go mad every once in a while, there’s no hope.”

People would make the decisions they wished to make, and some of them would hurt both themselves and those who loved them, and some would pass unnoticed, while some would bring joy.

8. Dracula by Bram Stoker

It is the fault of our science that it wants to explain all; and if it explain not, then it says there is nothing to explain.”

Do not fear ever to think.

4 thoughts on “2013 Book Hit List: Not Much, But Enough

  1. Goodness. I haven’t read a single book from your list. I’ve been wanting to read your 2, 5, and 7. I hope I could find time to read them all this year.🙂

    • these books are beautiful, scud. they are inspiring. i think if someone read all these books, it’s pretty telling on my state of mind. looking at my list, i can see a pattern.😉

  2. #3 and #4 were just awesome. I loved #3; I’m not ashamed to say I cried, both during reading and watching it. As for Warm Bodies, I feel the author could’ve done so much more, but it was still pretty good!

    • extremely loud and incredibly close is one of the saddest books i’ve ever read, if not the saddest, but i enjoyed it. i learned a lot. my favorite bit is the story of the grandparents. i so wanted to punch grandfather in the face.😆

Leave a Reply

