Bad Poetry Weekend #21: Not Telling The Truth Is Different From Lying

i will remember you with my soul clenched

You remember what Dr. House said? “Everybody lies.” But not all lies are created equal.

This is a lovely song to listen to while reading this.

The Words I Would Say II

I lied to you
by saying I see nothing in your eyes
by never admitting it is I and all I ever wanted reflected in them.

I lied to you
by claiming I have accepted we have no future
by denying this debilitating longing for our time together to last the rest of my days.

I lied to you
by arrogantly laughing it off when you told me it will hurt as this breaks even
by making you believe I did not love you.

9 thoughts on “Bad Poetry Weekend #21: Not Telling The Truth Is Different From Lying

  1. Another worthy addition to your collection PM. The use of repetition and line lengths is very engrossing. The emotion too is incredibly powerful, the pain and hurt being discussed weeping like tears upon the screen (maybe I’m being overly dramatic with that last reference). Beautiful work PM! (as always)

    • hi, thank you for reading, much appreciated. i don’t know what it means that i am getting quite good with writing about pain? 😆

      • Hmmmm. By writing about pain, maybe it, I don’t know, secretes it like sweat from hearts and minds so it cannot consume the poet? Maybe one should not question inspiration, else it will be evaporated like winds upon the sand dunes of time?

Leave a Reply

