I Don’t Care About Many Things But I Care About You

sisters

My sister sent me a link to this very cool video, The Science of Happiness (WATCH IT). I thought it was super cool that I decided to do the activity myself and write my sister something to tell her why she is so awesome to me:

Dear Maj,

I love you. I know I don’t say it often, in fact I know I haven’t been saying much lately, but it doesn’t mean my love for you has gotten any less. I also know that the recent changes in my life has affected you negatively in one way or the other, and for that I’m sorry, but this is how it must be. I cannot thank you enough for trying to understand, or at least respecting me and not judging me.

I will not forget that time last summer when the universe collapsed on me and I felt so alone and you gave me a hug and told me that you care.  It meant the world to me. If I was thinking about killing myself that time, you telling me that you care about me made me reconsider.

But more important, you have expressed your concern for me in a way that is not an assault. To me, it came across as a simple notion that you care, no ifs and buts. That is something I have always liked about you. You give me space and you seem to care whether you agree with me or not. Your love and appreciation for me is not conditional. For someone so young, you seem to be very level-headed and open. Not a lot of people are. I appreciate that a lot, which is why I feel comfortable and safe with you. I value you in my life.

I feel very happy to have a sister like you. How grateful I am for you cannot be captured in 300-words but I hope this is enough to show you that you matter to me, and whatever happens to me, wherever I go, whatever choices I make, you will always do.

Looking forward to us watching UFC on the weekend, btw. I’ll bring bacon.

9 thoughts on “I Don’t Care About Many Things But I Care About You

  1. Is Rainn Wilson one of the founders of SoulPancake because I remember him saying that before or am I just imagining things?

    I’d do this but my friends would tease me to no end. And frankly, I don’t think I’m at that stage where I can think about being thankful for anything or anybody yet.

    P.S. the video made me cry, esp when the woman in yellow was speaking with her sister, but feelings suck and I will try and forget about all this in 5 seconds

Leave a Reply

